My KubeCon Experience

My KubeCon Experience

I'm penning down this blog with the hope that it serves as a source of motivation and guide for anyone aiming to navigate the journey to KubeCon as a student or contributor. My intention is that readers can iterate through my experiences, learning, and challenges, gaining insights that might prove helpful in their own paths. If you find this blog helpful or have any thoughts to share, please drop your comments below. Let's build a community of support and shared learning!

I've been attending KubeCon virtually for quite some time, but attending it in person has always been a dream shared by those contributing diligently to any CNCF project, including myself. Meeting the folks I collaborate with, who I usually interact with remotely, and experiencing the atmosphere in person is truly incomparable.

Submitting Call For Proposal

Regarding KubeCon Cloud Native Con North America 2023, like many who work on Kubernetes or other CNCF projects, I've learned a lot from sharing the values and lessons we've gained with the wider community. In line with this, I submitted a talk proposal for KubeCon, but unfortunately, due to the overwhelming number of submissions, I ended up on the waitlist. As a third-year undergrad student, the cost of attending such a conference seemed daunting, and I almost gave up on the idea. Lol, I also recall interacting with the Kubernetes Contributor Summit team at sync meets, while everyone discussed doing cool stuffs around the conference I had to say I couldn't commit to it at the time. Hahha, too poetic, I suppose ;) Later on, I decided to submit the talk for Cloud Native Rejekts. Fortunately, my talk got accepted, however, presenting virtually wasn't as appealing, so a bit of research and I applied for the Dan Kohn Scholarship.

Dan Kohn Scholarship

The Dan Kohn Scholarship Fund aims to provide opportunities for individuals who might not otherwise afford to attend such conferences. It supports active contributors to CNCF projects, those who are underrepresented or project maintainers. I want to emphasize that this scholarship isn't a ticket for international vacations; it's a meaningful opportunity for those genuinely in need.

Back to my story – with only hopes in my eyes, I patiently waited. Then, one day, I received the news: I was selected as a need-based applicant for the Dan Kohn Scholarship, just a month before the conference. While I was incredibly happy, the really difficult process of obtaining a USA Visa from India added a bit of tension. Nevertheless, I didn't give up, took a chance, and got my visa approved within 15 days, thanks to a bit of luck and, I believe, some divine blessings allowing me to attend this conference:)

PTR: Dan Kohn scholarship is reimbursed and not sponsored.

Cloud Native Rejekts

Attending Cloud Native Rejects was a great experience! Despite arriving in America on the same day as my talk, it turned out to be fantastic. I highly recommend these pre-KubeCon events to everyone. They provide a more intimate setting, making it easier to connect with the audience, especially since it's smaller than KubeCon.

The main advantage is the opportunity to network and build close connections. You get to meet passionate and specific people in the ecosystem, and the energy at these smaller conferences adds a lot to your KubeCon experience. I really enjoyed my time at Rejects, and everyone was incredibly welcoming. I made lots of connections that carried over to KubeCon.

I had the chance to meet wonderful people like Puja Abbasi, Reese, Orlin Vasilev, Benazir, Nikhita, and many others. It was great talking to them about their work and other interesting topics. The talk itself was amazing, and I appreciated the energy and supportive gestures from the attendees. Their enthusiastic applause after my talk, despite me being jet-lagged and a first-time international speaker, truly made my day!

KubeCon Day 1 - Collocated Events

As the Kubernetes Contributor Summit North America 2023 (KCSNA) Contents team lead, my role involved planning the schedule, reviewing CFPs, and managing the event. Check out the details here. I spent the entire first day at the K8s Contributor Summit. The atmosphere was incredible, reconnecting with fellow contributors, mentors, and friends. It was a day filled with valuable insights and learning. Engaged with various contributors from the Kubernetes community. From meeting mentors to interacting with friends and fellow contributors, the day was rich in learning experiences. The talks delivered insights into the future developments of the Kubernetes project. The strong connection to K8s made these sessions an excellent way to stay informed about the ecosystem's advancements.

Day 1 at KubeCon is dedicated to collocated events and lightning talks, adding a lot of excitement and anticipation before the main conference. These events contribute to the overall energy and enthusiasm leading up to KubeCon.

After the K8s Contributor Summit, we had a Socials (Celebrations) where I interacted with more experienced people in the community! So many learning~

KubeCon Day 2,3,4

The conference kicked off with keynotes, solution showcases, and an array of talented talks. It marked the official beginning of KubeCon for me. The conference took place at McCormick Place West, a massive 4-lakh square feet exhibit space designed for versatility. Despite the large crowd, the venue felt just right, for noise-free social interaction and comfort. Though the venue was a bit challenging to navigate, we figured it out. Pro tip: Find a KubeCon buddy to roam around with and join/create KubeCon whatsapp group for updates. Comfortable shoes and clothing are a must, considering the vast venue and extensive walking. The conference energy was amazing, and I thoroughly enjoyed building connections.

My Schedule: My day was packed with keynotes, solution showcases, talks, and finally giving my own talk at a Panel. Networking and meeting new people were woven into the entire schedule.

I also grabbed my CNCF headshot early in the schedule, adding a professional touch to the experience ;) You get e-mail notifications to book a headshot appointment weeks before KubeCon, don't miss that!

Resume Board: A valuable opportunity to explore job options. I stuck my resume on the board and engaged with job seekers and hiring managers. Carrying multiple copies of my resume proved to be a smart move.

Solution Showcases Interaction: Interacted with various booths to understand the showcased solutions. I had a list of some genuine questions that led me to a wealth of knowledge about technologies like Control Plane, Aqua, Carvel, and more. Instead of focusing solely on goodies and swags (like any first time attendee ;)), you should make it a point to learn as much as possible about the showcased products. This led me to discover cool technologies and projects!

One of the highlights was meeting my mentor, Lin Sun, an inspiring woman in tech. Her journey and the warm welcome she gave me were truly memorable. Lin Sun's recognition with the prestigious 'Chop Wood Carry Water' award by CNCF added to the inspiration. I also had the pleasure of meeting Mauricio Salatino, the author of a Kubernetes book, who turned out to be a super humble person. He even gave us a signed copy of his book, along with a warm introduction. I highly recommend reading his book for valuable insights from the Kubernetes space. Overall, these days at KubeCon were filled with learning, networking, and encounters with remarkable individuals like Lin Sun and Mauricio Salatino. I also had an interaction with Bart Farrell, Kaslin Fields, Rajas Kakodkar, Madhav Jivrajani, Priyanka Saggu, Saiyam Pathak along with others!

(I'll write more about these little interactions soon...)

Google Contributors Appreciation Dinner

I had the privilege of being invited to an exclusive in-person Google contributor appreciation dinner near KubeCon on the 9th of November, the third day of the conference. Huge thanks to my Kubernetes community mentor, Kaslin Fields, for these incredible opportunities. At the dinner, I found myself as one of the only two student among some of the brightest minds in tech, and the warm reception I received from them was truly noteworthy. Engaging with these experts and soaking in their talks was a cherished experience. I am genuinely grateful for the journey I've been on and the valuable insights I've gained.

Special Mentions

I want to give special mentions to few remarkable individuals who have significantly influenced my experience in the tech community.

Nikhita Raghunathan, a dynamic woman leader from India, has an inspiring journey in tech. What resonates with me is her unwavering commitment to fostering community growth. The way she encourages and pushes us to achieve greater heights is truly motivating. Her welcoming nature creates a sense of genuine connection to the community, and she is undoubtedly a leading force in the cloud-native space, instilling a love for the community.

Devanum Srinivas everyone knows as he is a recognized contributor in the community, widely acknowledged for his outstanding work. What struck me the most is his exceptional helpfulness, evident from our interactions at the Kubernetes Contributor Summit. Devanum goes beyond by initiating meaningful discussions and providing invaluable mentorship, guiding individuals like me through various aspects of goal achievement. I am genuinely grateful for his dedicated efforts in the community, and I wholeheartedly recommend others to connect with him.

(Stay tuned for more mentions coming soon!...)